Preview launch of my book “Mastering CoreOS”

Last 6 months, I have been blogging very little since I was busy writing a book on CoreOS. The book is available for pre-ordering now from the publisher websiteAmazon US and Amazon India. Discounts are available till Feb 29th from publisher and discount code is available here. The tentative publishing date is early end of Feb/early March.

Why I wrote the book other than the fact that I can make some money out of it?
I started blogging around later part of 2013. The first open source project that I tried was Opendaylight. It was very exciting to create virtual networks using Mininet and manage it with Openflow and Opendaylight. In early 2014, I focused on cloud technologies like AWS, Google Cloud and Openstack and learnt how Public and Private clouds revolutionized how we consume resources. Around August 2014, I started spending time on Devops and learnt how tools like Ansible eased the management pain not just in server infrastructure but also in networking infrastructure. From December 2014, I started spending time on Docker and CoreOS. The first Docker version I used was 1.3.1(Now its 1.9) and first CoreOS version I used was 500.x(Now its 933.x). Even though Microservices and Containers were present before, Docker made Containers easier to use which in turn made Microservices popular. CoreOS pretty much invented the Cluster OS or Container-optimized OS category and provided OS and tools that ease Container deployment. By writing this book, I felt that I could connect the dots between SDN, Cloud, Devops technologies that I focussed on earlier with Docker and CoreOS.

What are some questions the book tries to answer?
What is a Container-Optimized OS?
Why CoreOS and Containers are needed?
How to deploy microservices and distributed applications?
How to setup, maintain and update CoreOS cluster?
What role does key CoreOS services etcd, fleet, systemd play?
How does Docker and CoreOS manage networking and storage?
What role does standards play in Containers?
Why there are multiple Container runtimes like Docker and Rkt?
How does Kubernetes and Swarm orchestrate Container deployment?
How is Openstack, AWS ECS, Google Container engine, Tectonic related to CoreOS and Docker?
How to debug Containers and CoreOS?
What are the production considerations when deploying microservices?

What did I learn?
That there is a lot more to learn..
Open source is very powerful and it aids innovation and collaboration
Trying hands-on is more important than reading through software manuals
Can learn a lot from Conference Video recordings/slides, blogs
Need lot more patience for writing a book when compared to writing a blog
It is good to do something different part-time from daily office job to keep life interesting

If you read the book or read few chapters of the book, please feel free to provide your feedback..

Thanks to CoreOS, Docker and Container community for the amazing technologies that they have developed. Big thanks to Open source community for making software easily accessible to everyone.

7 thoughts on “Preview launch of my book “Mastering CoreOS”

  1. Hi Sreenivas!

    Going to buy your book as soon as I finish making my latte! I just bought a UCS lab including dual FIs, B Series chassis with 2 blades and a C series rack mount server.

    A friend and I (he owns an IT company) are going to use you book and blog to start learning all these great new platforms.

    Thank you so much and keep up the great work!


Leave a Reply

